Not sure what to write. .

as words don’t seem appropriate for the 4 officers killed in Oakland.  Though I know there is a huge part of the population that don’t appreciate cops, but most can appreciate the loss of life.  Though I have not walked the same streets as the officers that died, I can understand the threat they face daily.  To continue to put on a uniform without knowing if you will hug your wife/husband/children I can understand.  It is usually a thankless job, but I would want all families involved to know that I will not forget their bravery and courage.  I will not forget that they sacrificed all to save the public.  And though my brothers and sisters in blue may faulter at times, I choose to remember those that believe in truth and justice.  With all this being said I would be foolish not to send white light to the family of the perpetrator.  May they find peace!

 

“Policeman’s Prayer

When I start my tour of duty God,
Wherever crime may be,
as I walk the darkened streets alone,
Let me be close to thee.

Please give me understanding with both the young and old.
Let me listen with attention until their story’s told.
Let me never make a judgment in a rash or callous way,
but let me hold my patience let each man have his say.

Lord if some dark and dreary night,
I must give my life,
Lord, with your everlasting love
protect my children and my wife.

(Author Unknown)

1 Comment

Filed under My thoughts

One response to “Not sure what to write. .

  1. Aww babe… I know what you are feeling right now. Right there with you! Well said and thanks for posting the prayer. There is an EMT version somewhere on my computer.

    Sigh… I just hate it when we lose officers. I think about the families and kids left behind and it just breaks me.

    I am thinking about you, sending you warm thoughts. Just always be as safe as you can be… ya know?

    Peace!

Leave a Reply

